Art Fund announces finalists for Museum of the Year 2018

Postal Museum: Image by Marc Atkins © Marc Atkins / Art Fund 2018

The Art Fund has announced the five UK museums which have been selected as finalists for Museum of the Year 2018.

The winning museum, which will receive £100,000, will be announced at a ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on Thursday 5 July 2018. The other four shortlisted museums will receive £10,000 each in recognition of their achievements.

Art Fund awards the Museum of the Year prize annually to one outstanding museum, which, in the opinion of the judges, has shown exceptional imagination, innovation and achievement in the preceding year.
This year’s jury, chaired by Stephen Deuchar, comprises: Ian Blatchford, director of the Science Museum Group; Rebecca Jones, BBC arts correspondent; Melanie Manchot, artist; and Monisha Shah, independent media consultant and Art Fund trustee. The shortlisted museums are:

• Brooklands Museum, Weybridge
• Ferens Art Gallery, Hull
• Glasgow Women’s Library
• The Postal Museum, London
• Tate St Ives

Speaking on behalf of the jury, Stephen Deuchar, director, Art Fund, said: ‘Above all, Art Fund Museum of the Year is a prize for exceptional originality and innovation. Each of our five finalists has tapped into very current concerns: the progress of Glasgow Women’s Library exemplifies the quickening march towards equality; the Postal Museum addresses our first social network; Brooklands is inspiring the next generation of engineers; and the Ferens Art Gallery in Hull and Tate St Ives are galvanising their communities around visual culture. Each one expands the very idea of what a museum can be.’

Sign up to the Museum-iD Newsletter:
Sign up to the Museum-iD Newsletter: